Yeti GOBOX Collection

Which Cartridge Has Killed The Most Elk? (Poll)

Which Cartridge Has Killed The Most Elk?

• Total voters
I would think that possibly the 30-30 may have killed a few in the late
1800's and early 1900's.Lots of settlers and explorers crossing the frontier.
Although Elk numbers more dispersed back then.〽💥

Last edited:
10 best selling Centerfire Rifle Cartridges

USA (Averaged 2015 sales rank)

1. .223 Remington
  2. .308 Winchester
  3. .30-06 Springfield
  4. .30-30 Winchester
  5. .270 Winchester
  6. .243 Winchester
  7. 7mm Remington Magnum
  8. .300 Winchester Magnum
  9. 7.62x39mm Soviet
  10. .22-250 Remington
  • Honorable Mention: .300 WSM, 7mm-08 Rem. and .338 Win. Mag.

Last edited:
I am no expert but elk were distributed across the country, even in the east. I read there were 10 million estimated and they extirpated from most states and were reduced to less than 50,000 before the turn of the 20th century. That would preclude any of those cartridges from being involved. I'll leave it to the real history buffs to put a timeline on the wipeout of the historic elk herds, and the overlap of available cartridges and also to put into perspective the total # of elk killed to wipe out almost 10 million. Obviously, its a much higher number than that as it didn't happen overnight. And then that number - vs- how many total elk have been killed under more "modern" game management since 1900 or thereafter.

This is turning into an interesting thread. We have to imagine that whatever was the most popular cartridge when the herds was reduced by 9,950,000 elk would be the top caliber

Can anyone propose a method to actually determine this? I'm struggling besides interviews with old game wardens.

My speculation..
Fewer hunters in the Hawken era.
More people were hunting explicitly with a 30-30 in that era.
In the more present..many calibers getting utilized ...some with man buns.