Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

A noob's rant on reloading content.

yakimanoob

I'm new to reloading, so I've been rabidly consuming every bit of advice I can find online on the subject for the past two months or so.

And I just need to say for the record that a standard deviation on three data points (e.g., velocity for a three-shot group) is utterly and completely meaningless.

Thank you for coming to my TED Talk.

Unless you're shooting precision, 3 and 5 shot info is more than sufficient for hunting. A trend is a trend and you'll quickly realize that even in a 3 shot group that an ES of 75 isn't worth messing with but one with a 15 ES is worth paying attention to. That is where many guys stop but many reloaders keep messing around and rarely do reloading threads get updated with the ad nauseum of tinkering.

If you want to spend your expensive components and burn up a barrel to be statistically significant then by all means go for it.

The nice thing about reloading is you can make it as technical and demanding as you want, getting the most out of each round, and then laying them on memory foam pillows so they aren't terribly jostled, removing a monkey butt hair of coating off of a kernel of powder, or you can throw 58 grains of IMR 4350 and a 165 grain TTSX and shoot under an inch consistently and call it good enough for gov't work.

It all depends upon the tightness of your whiteys.

Yep, three shots groups are utterly and completely meaningless to determine velocity.

I took a brand new custom 6.5 manbun witih handloads to the range yesterday. I shot four shots over the Labradar to zero at 100 yards. I plugged the initial velocity in my Shooter app and hit a five inch circle at 700 yards with the next shot. In total, I fired seventeen rounds and the average velocity between the first four shots and the total string increased 5 fps. The SD was 6.9 fps. I expect that the velocity will continue to rise for the first hundred shots or so.