wood vs. propane

lakedelavan

hello everyone i am just getting into doing more and more DIY hunts in the mountains and from the places i have read is that people are saying to use propane little stove/pot units for cooking there food. My questions is why just not carry a hatchet and saw and just collect and use wood. Is there something bad with that or it just doesn't work or something im not seeing. I am not trying to be mean im just wondering why not use it. so please give your opinion on why you use what you use and if you have any other info.

try using wood when it is heavy rain and your hungry. you will stay hungry

Because sometimes I don't want to hike down a mountain or burn up Miller's house to start a fire to cook over.

Attachments

• 425211_3245149084102_489805461_n.jpg
    425211_3245149084102_489805461_n.jpg
    99.8 KB · Views: 586
  • 1593273843_61f8315e0e_z.jpg
    1593273843_61f8315e0e_z.jpg
    81.1 KB · Views: 686
I am all about using a wood stove for heat in our main camp but for cooking propane or butane is te way to go. Fast and hot. Also, if you are packing it in you are probably just going to be boiling water for dehyd's. ALWAYS having fire making ability with you though as part of a survival kit.

Many parts of the West have fire restrictions because of the dry summer they are having. This means some National Forest lands are not allowing wood burning (campfires) until we get more rain and snow. Stoves are the only way you are going to cook anything.

Fires are pretty inefficient given it takes an hour for your fire to burn down into coals vs 3 minutes to bowl water with a little stove... Fire can also cover your pans with heavy black soot!

I'll add that in the backcountry fires are frowned on because they make a mess just by themselves and if that isn't bad enough when a certain class of individuals get drunk enough they think they can melt all of their beer cans and bottles in them!. "Leave no trace" is the ethic."