Where would you hunt?

So if you were going to do a budget hunt to another state... what would it be for and how much could you do it for? total cost tags, gas motel or camp... everything. Right now im thinking of a mulie hunt in Idaho, about 700-800 total cost.
But I'm no expert I have never hunted outside of Montana and was interested what everybody thought their most fun low cost hunt could be.:D

Utah. Mid August with a bow. Sleep at 11,000 ft at 69 degrees. Hunt 159-190 class mule deer.

Wyoming. September. Archery. In a tent at 9,000ft. Same reason as Utah.

Idaho. October. Rifle. Same reason as Utah and Wyoming.

All doable for under $800 round trip with the tag if you have a buddy to split the trip with.

Last edited:
I've hunted DIY as a non-res in AK twice for bear and blacktail, WY twice for antelope, and AZ once for archery javelina. On a budget the WY antelope or the AZ javelina are good hunts. AZ we hunted in T-shirts in January, a nice break from MT winter. Also could have killed a mountain lion if I had bought a tag and the coyote shooting alone would be worth the trip. That trip my buddy had an archery muley tag that was a guarantee draw and we spent a few days chasing some decent bucks around and also had opportunity to shoot quail.

Forgot about cost, I did AZ for $1000 for 10 days but had lodging provided. WY I did for about $400 each trip but it's close to home and I camped.

Cost was for gas/travel and groceries/meals...didn't add in tags.

Last edited:
I see you're from Montana.. If the drive wasn't so much further for me, Montana would probably be my go to state for deer and elk most years. I bear hunted Montana this past spring, and 28 hours each way gets old real fast (and costs $$ in fuel). However, I may be coming back again this spring; time for some more books on CD from the library.