Save $100 on the Leupold VX-3HD

Talk me out of bumping elk!

FrogFire7

Hi guys, real newbie here where elk are concerned (1st timers here). I've been planning a trip since last fall, and it's crunch time. 9 days until my dad and I go west. We are doing a public land, self guided hunt.

I have done as much e scouting as I can... the area dad wants to go (he knows little about elk hunting, so we are in the same boat) looks to be very heavy timber. I'm not sure how much glassing we are going to be able to do.

Being white tail hunters, I KNOW he is not going to be content to sit all day glassing, with all that land just begging to be walked.
I've watched just about everything Randy has on amazon, and listened to tons of Hunt Talk Podcasts, as well as elk talk, etc.
We are going second rifle season in colorado... I guess I'm just unsure how much walking to do after we pack in to our camp site. I expect a lot of walking, but I don't want to push every elk out of the area either.

Any advice on how much movement for a couple PA rooks?

That time of year glass is probably going to be your best friend. I like to timber stalk too but generally I wait til later seasons when there is snow on the ground. I don't know much about whitetail hunting but isn't a lot of it sitting in a treestand for hours? I imagine glassing is like that but a lot less consequential.

You will find that once you get your boots on the ground it will be radically different from your maps. The elevation is relevant as well as burn boundaries, water locations. Some of those maps are years old. You won't be doing much sitting around while you track and locate elk. I think you will be glad to stop and glass for a while. Took me about 40 hours of boots on the ground scouting to find where the elk are for this upcoming hunt and that was a small area of only 100 sq miles.

Ps. stay out of the deep timber. Find some meadows close to water

Last edited: