My first elk... 9/11 Bull

Steelhead

Yessir I just pulled the "first elk" card. However I have been hunting for about 10 years. I started in western Oregon...the brushiest of brushy, screwed up several opportunities on bulls because I was inexperianced. Moved to WA for work and managed to miss cleanly on two cows last year. Drew a big bull tag this year and trained hard. I work in Idaho in the summer and I ran a couple miles at 6000+ feet every other day this summer and shot more than I ever have. Set up 5 trailcameras and checked them as often as I could... I hunted next to team Mossback and the Governors tag holder for the first few days of the season, interpret that however you want.
On the morning of 09/11 I woke up and headed to where I'd gotten word that there were 4 bulls, one 340ish and no cows. Like the genius I am I heard elk bugling in one canyon on my way in but decided to hunt the adjacent canyon, the one where the bulls were supposed to be. Needless to say I didn't find any elk in that canyon. I went back to the bugling canyon and the elk were gone, saw a bear I figured that the elk I'd heard in the morning had jumped that canyon and had a feeling I knew where they would bed.
I went back to the cabing where Chadwick had fashioned an American flag in remberance of what those sonsofbitches did to us 10 years ago. We donned our elk/terrorist hunting apparel and took some photos in front of the flag then went off after our respective targets (Big Bull, Big Bull, Cow).