Leupold LTO tracker

justdada

image.jpg
The fellow in the background looked familiar, so I thought I would ask what you all think about using this type of technology for hunting? I can definitely see the advantage for game recovery! How about it Fin, assuming you've put your eye to one, what was your impression?

Seriously?

We are our own worst enemy.

I wonder if a new regulation should be implemented to keep this crap out of Wyoming.

I would hope that in Montana it would fall under this-

Screenshot_20161203-121759.jpg

I've got mixed feelings on this.
On one hand, I really like the idea of reducing the number of hit animals that get lost in some way or another.

On the other, this seems way too easy to use for the wrong purpose. Heat-seeking is not on my list of fair chase practices.

I've had a chance to poke around with one. As an engineer I thought it was a nifty idea and technology. As a hunter I was wary of it. All I used it for was to look at how cold my fingers were compared to the rest of my hand (Raynaud's) (and it was kind of cool to see the cold patches my hand left on everything), and to locate my hand warmer that I'd dropped on the floor of the truck.

The sensor resolution is something like 160x220 (around 1/4 the pixel count of a standard-definition TV [edit, see below]), which in my mind limits the product's usefulness to the intended use, recovery. Make it better resolution, and you increase the benefit to somebody trying to use it for live game finding.

I don't see a good way forward for this product. I would be at least a bit happier with the product if the Leupold product page didn't have the image of a (presumably live) standing deer as an example use.