Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

First Rifle

darrendbeck

I'm curious to know how old everybody was when they got their first rifle. I'm having a debate with my wife about getting our son a .22lr and couldn't think of a better place to pose this question. If memory serves me correctly I was 9 when I got one for Christmas. Obviously I wasn't allowed to use it, or even touch it, without my dad or grandpa being around and I remember my mom wasn't happy about it. I know each kid is different and there are a ton of variables to consider, I'm just curious what other people's experiences have been.

I graduated from the Red Ryder and little red compound I believe when I was 7 when I got the 22, and 8 when I got the .410. I'm a little fuzzy on those years so it might be flip flopped.

I don’t think I got my first rifle until I was 12-13, but shot my first deer at 8. My dad didn’t believe in youth models, so I shot his 30-30 until I grew some. I didn’t own a 22 until I was old enough to buy it.

got a .22 at 13

only reason that's when is cause that's when i asked for one - didn't grow up in hunting family

I had a .22 designated as mine when I was 5 but don't recall ever being unsupervised with it.

For my 12th birthday I got a 10/22 that I then had open access to.

Bought my son a Savage Little Rascal .22 when we was way too young to shoot. He's 6 now and we went shooting this past weekend. He did real well shooting and understanding the safety aspect of shooting from the bench. He's well on his way.

I would say somewhere around 8-9 years old is a good time to get a kid started on a .22. I got my niece going about that age. I think I was around 11 when I got started but my old man never had much interest in shooting or hunting, so that was the reason for the late start. I had to beg him to get me going.