DeLorme Topo 8.0

Ben Lamb

Has anybody used the 8.0 version? I'm seeing it fairly cheap on the net, and had used 4.0 in the past, but was curious if I'd be wasting time and money instead of just going for the HuntingGP Maps.com?

I'm using Mapsource right now, but they seem to leave a bit to be desired as far as fine detail.

If you're going to buy Topo, buy NA 9. Versions before that didn't have much in the way of a usable public lands layer. I assume you have a Garmin GPSr. What are you wanting the software to do?

Running a Garmin eTrex Vista HCx.

Ideally, I'd like the software to show property ownership, current BLM, USFS, etc trails and roads as well as be able to plot routes and the usual. I'm still learning how to use the unit, and was looking to stepup from the Garmin software. The price of the 8.0 was more appealing than anything else, which is why I was more interested in it.

Ben are you using a micro sd card? Or loading directly to your units memory? I will be doing maps from the GPS Filedepot again in mid august when they update cadastral data. I build my map sets exactly as you described what you want. If you can wait until they update the cadastral in august, I'll just copy and paste it onto your Micro SD when I do mine. I kill a lot of animals on the "fringes" and my GPS is such a useful tool for hunting the properties that many people don't realize are huntable.

Dustin,

I've got the 2 gig SD card so I can do it either way. Completely forgot about Cadastral. I can certainly wait, right now I'm only using my GPS for working out and hiking/fishing. Nothing too major and the Mapsource software and maps that came with the unit will work fine for now.

Thanks!

If I was using a Garmin, I'd take advantage of as much free stuff as I could. You can overlay public lands on Google Earth using the BLM GeoCommunicator for example. Are you looking for more detail on your GPSr or computer?

WT, Definitely will take advantage of all free stuff I can.