Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

CO Elk hunt or not? What would you do?

Devil Diver Down

Hey all, I've got a conundrum of a quandary here & I'd like to here some opinions from you all.

This is my first year "running" archery and I've been planning to do an OTC archery elk hunt in CO this year. After getting pantsed by AZ mule deer last weekend, I'm wondering if I'm just too inexperienced to make this CO trip worthwhile, but I was looking forward to it and am torn, so here are my options:

1) Do the hunt. The time, energy & money spent is worth the experience, even if the elk spank me like the deer did. And it's getting that experience without waiting 1 more year to bow hunt elk. I've never hunted them except in late November. I do have an AZ elk rifle hunt in mid-October ("Limited Opportunity" hunt, though) so I'll get to hunt elk twice this fall. Getting the time off work is easy--I'm my own boss--just costs me money every day I can't get clients' work done.

2) Wait until I'm more seasoned with bow hunting. When I finish my work commitment, I'll have about 2 1/2 days left to hunt mule deer. If that doesn't work out I have December for Coues. I'm also applying for archery turkey & javelina for spring hunts. I have the October rifle elk season to hunt as well, albeit "Limited Opportunity".

The guy at my local archery shop says do the hunt. Time to put whatever lessons I learned on the deer hunt to quick use, etc. Elk are "easier than deer" (his words, not mine) because of the calling and calling in factor. My Miss September decoy also wants to get her butt out into the forest. I'm leaning to going--who wants to disappoint Miss September? :rolleyes: and to get the experience sooner than later.

Interested in what you all have to say...