A timely lament . . .

VikingsGuy

I don't know this guy, not sure he and I would agree about much in the political arena, but do feel like we could share a beer and not throw punches or resort to name calling. Having one foot in hard scrabble ND childhood/youth and one foot in the "educated elite" as a professional, I have seen humans I valued dearly drift way over the last 15 years. Some to the right, some to the left. All seemed to think that the price of friendship was undying fealty to the trending Facebook drama of the moment - left and right. We used to have friends who coincidentally had political views, now we only have political views that demand we sort our former friends. It is a damn shame. It saddens me.

The curse of the elitist left progressives and the punch you in the nose right populists will either be the end of this wonderful 250 yr old experiment in a democracy of the people, or it will at least form lasting scars. Scars that separate family, neighbors, friends, co-workers and sportsman. I have spent the last 4 or 5 years hoping this would pass before permanent damage was done. But fear I was wrong to have such hope - I fear that we are past a tipping point that will be far more damaging to Americans than the 2 degree climate warming one I hear so much about.

Our American existential crisis is that we have no place in our hearts and minds for people who do not show the same tribal fealty that we do. We give no space to the possibility we might learn something from a different perspective. We have the hubris to believe that catchy YouTube rants by pundits who have little actual expertise in the areas they rail about can sufficiently describe incredibly complex and nuanced issues. We allow the rightwing populist blowhards and the clueless marxist university administrators set the tone instead of average people leading average lives.