What do you think?

IdahoBugler

I've been practicing repairing antlers on some deer that I have. Here are the first two attempts at doing it. It's fairly easy making the horn but matching the color is a killer. The antler material doesn't take stain well and you really have to rough it up to get it to stay at all. My biggest issue is getting the two part apoxy to match before adding the tine.

This is my first attempt. Fairly easy because the sheds are light in color but are fresh sheds from last year.
P1080226.jpg

P1080225.jpg

Here is my second attempt. This is a 28" buck I shot about 15 years ago. These antlers were tough to match up in color. Also since when I was younger I thought it was a good idea to add a thick coat of lacquer on them.
P1080241.jpg

I'll post some pics of the process a little later.

Canoe, IB must have done good on the repairs if you can't tell which ones were fixed! Yes, after talking to IdahoBugler about the antler repair process, it appears he is fixing older antlers and sheds that had broken tines or what not. He is working his way up to fixing the droptine buck he shot in '06 and wanted to practice a bunch before he fixed it. I told him once he got really good he could attempt to fix my '06 bull with 16" of royal missing.

Good job Bryce. They look good.

Thanks for clearing that up for me WileCoyote.

Canoe - Yes the sets have broken horns that I have repaired. The small two point set had one tine more then 8" broken off and the dark buck had two broken tines. I just wanted to see what everyone thought about the fixes.

You know someone is sick in the head when they repair a set of 2 points...........I like it.

Have any before pics, for comparison ??

Awesome job by the way.......any tips on redoing some old weather faded and slightly cracked horns from a buck my ol' man shot back in the 60's ?!?!?

Here are a couple of before and after pictures of the 3X4 set I did.

P1080196.jpg

P1080199.jpg

Wires installed
P1080202.jpg