PEAX Equipment

rifle scope - 40mm or 50mm?

Paul in Idaho

My next major hunting purchase probably will be a Leupold riflescope. I have been using an off-brand 50mm AO scope for the past 15 years. Its optical clarity is fine, but I have had increasing doubts about its reticle stability.

I bought the 50mm with the understanding that larger objective = brighter image. Is that still correct, or can a 40mm be just as bright in poor lighting with the better lens coatings and quality available now?

The 50mm is more expensive more, and heavier, than the 40mm version. I don't plan on buying an AO model again.

Which diameter would you choose, and why?

It depends on what power you plan on shooting at. The exit pupil is the size of the objective divided by the magnification power. I.e. a 10x bino with a 40mm objective = exit pupil of 4 mm. Your eye can only utilize a maximum of 7mm.

I do most of my shooting at 6x, with a 36mm objective = 6mm exit pupil. Plenty for me. If you plan on doing a lot of shooting at higher magnification, you may want the 50. If you mostly use 4-6x for your shooting, you're wasting your money.

Keep in mind, 7mm exit pupil is the maximum your eye can use. As you age, this can get considerably less.

It's all in how the lense is coated. If you're going with a Leupold you'll be fine. I never really saw the need to drag around extra weight if not absolutely necessary. And, you'll probably need to go with higher mounts as well.

Last edited:
The 50mm should allow more light in during low light hunting, but I don't think that is worth lugging the bigger scope around all day and having to use the higher mounts, which I really dislike for whatever reason Probably mostly aesthetic. I have really only used Leupold, but have shot Nikon and Vortex on occassion. I think the VX-2 is probably one of the best values in scopes today or the VX-3 if you can spend a bit more.