Progressive eyeglass users?

• Thread starter Deleted member 20812
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 20812

I’ve been incredibly fortunate with vision my entire life, and still have 20/15 vision EXCEPT I am losing my reading distance vision very rapidly. It’s making some aspects of my job difficult and I get tired of putting reading glasses (or looking for them) all the time.

For those of you who have gone to progressive lenses, what are the cons to doing so, if any? Do you wear them in the field while hunting? Do you wish you’d done it sooner or, or was it not as worthwhile as you thought it would be?

Thanks.

They suck when shooting a pistol. You have to hold your head in an unnatural position to focus on front sight.
Right, I’m aware of that. You can use a red dot sight for this issue.

I haven’t even shot my bow in two years (where it’s really gotten bad). Same issues? I don’t focus on my pins when I shoot, so maybe not?

I’ve been wearing progressives for about 5 years. I like them way better than OTC cheaters or bifocals since they have a graduated and more natural transition from the magnification area of the lens to the non-magnified area. Thus you don’t find yourself having to move your head so much to go from viewing something close to viewing something far away. I spend a lot of time on a computer, and I think they are well suited to that vs the other options. My distance vision is 20/20 (after lasik 20+ years ago), so I usually don’t wear them when I’m hunting or shooting.

When I only needed them for reading I didn't wear them while hunting but carried a dollar store pair in my pack. Now I wear them all the time except for glassing and ranging. Then I put them back on to read my drop chart. With the rifle scope I'm ok with them on or off. I'm going to town tomorrow to pick up my new set that has 8 levels. Could be interesting getting used to those.