Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

My wife's Montana Bull.

Gerald Martin

Guys, I lurk here a lot but rarely ever post. I thought some of you might enjoy seeing my wife's first ever bull elk.

My wife is one of the luckiest people in the world when it comes to drawing special tags. She drew a bighorn ram tag after only two year of applying and killed a nice 170 ram. That was in 2005. She's killed several deer with her bow and rifle since then but our having small children has kept her from getting serious about pursueing elk here in region 1.

I've been putting her in for a Missouri Breaks permit for six years now with hopes that she could get lucky and score a quality tag for elk. This year when it came time to apply for special permits I had a hard decision to make. Our fourth child is due to be born in January and I knew it would be tough for her to hunt if she actually drew the tag. But odds for drawing her unit run about 3% or less so I figured I'd go ahead and put her in just to keep building her bonus points. Well you guessed it, of course she draws the tag. Now we've got a problem, she's seven months pregnant with the elk tag of a lifetime for Montana. Well I 'm a pretty optimistic guy and she is pretty gutsy so there was no question we were going.

Due to her "ahem" condition we decided to go as early as we could despite knowing that there would be a lot of cow hunters and deer hunters the first week. We arrived on Sunday evening at dusk only to find three other camps and two truck full of cow hunters at our chosen camping spot. All the other trail heads had similar crowding so there wasn't much option of going to find a less crowded spot. This was definitely not my idea of a quality hunt with this many hunters around.