First-hand experiences of women hunters

What kind of influence do you have over Kickapoo?
Is it too late to shut down kmbc ‘s trail 11?

Welcome to the forum.
Thanks for the welcome.

I don't have much authority on that particular issue, but I am familiar with what's going on there...The economic incentives for outdoor recreation areas are hard to stop once the flood gates open - as you may know from ur experience in Colorado where the expansion of the ski industry in wilderness areas feels unstoppable. I just moved from Fort Collins, CO where I studied natural resource rec and tourism, now I work at the U of I on similar issues. I can look into getting more information on that i.e. upcoming public meetings, whether or not its been set in stone, etc... I agree with your concerns, I'm not a fan either

I guess this question is aimed at everyone, do you think the overall hunting community will eventually learn to welcome others into the community with more open arms or do you think these initiatives will be met with backlash from a lot of hunters?
I have seen both. Some people have really gone the extra mile to welcome new people to the sport. But I’ve seen others who have doubled down on exclusionary rhetoric and behaviors.

I’m not surprised by that, because a lot of things about hunting are exclusionary to begin with. One need not look further than many threads on this forum. Sharing of honey holes, access to land, access to trophy animals, access to tags….when you look at it, nearly everything about hunting boils down to competition for resources and access to them. That doesn’t tend to breed tolerance for more hunters of any kind, and certainly makes it that much harder for hunters who aren’t part of the majority demographic.