Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Best advice for accuracy?

JWP58

Banned
I just started shooting a bow about three weeks ago. I'm a long time hunter, firearms guru, but bows are foreign to me.

I would say Im consistently average right now. When I'm focused, the wind is perfect, and fresh (not fatigued) I can keep six arrows inside of the diameter of a large dinner plate (10"?) at 20yds. And I can usually keep my groups like that out to 30yds....40 plus is a different story...

But its very easy for me to have a flyer. I don't really know what causes this. Is it my anchor point moving? How a hold my release? Is it my bow? If it matters my flyers are ALWAYS to the right (I am right handed)..

So any advice? Is it just going to take me time to figure it out, or am I probably doing something fundamentally wrong? (I know its almost impossible to tell without actually watching me shoot)

Last edited:
My guess it's in your form somewhere. I suffer a flyer to the left and low sometimes as I drop my bow hand too soon. Two things I try to do and seem to help me with flyers: 1. try to keep the pin on the target until after the arrow hits and 2. let the release 'surprise' you. #1 one just makes me concentrate more, plus there's plenty of time to see where it hit later. #2 is easier with a very light trigger. If your release is adjustable, might want to consider lowering the pull.

Are you shooting a compound bow? If so I'd go down to the local archery shop and just ask questions, tell them your a beginner and would like some pointers. Ask them to tune your bow to make sure everything is as should be. Most places will let you shoot for a while and have someone watch you and give you pointers on your form and locate any issues with your bow.

Something is not going right if your shooting a compound bow and getting only 10" groups @ 20 yards. Its likely a combination your shooting form/consistency and issues with your bow setup/arrows.