Compound Bow Beginner-Help!

RugerHawg413

Hello,
I am not a beginner when it comes to hunting....with a rifle or a crossbow. But, I am very much a beginner when it comes to pretty much anything compound bow related. Probably 2 years ago, I bought a Bear Species Left Hand (as I am left eye dominant). I thought that would be a good enough bow to get me started, I live and hunt in Arkansas for Whitetail. I have only attempted to shoot the bow a couple of times, I bought some cheap bolts from walmart to use for target practice. I believe that my bow is adjustable from 55-70lb draw weight. I don't really know anyone that is big into bow hunting or that uses compound bows that much. Also, I only have one bow shop in my town, and it isn't the biggest place in the world. Any and all wisdom and information is very appreciated! I would love to be able to get good with a compound bow and maybe even hunt out west for big game with one if I get good enough. Please let me know what you suggest I do or tips of any kind to help me get started. Thank you so much and again it is very appreciated.

Start with John Dudley's Nock On series or Joel Turner's Shot IQ. Joel was on the WiredToHunt podcast (episodes #206 and #535). Would love it if Uncle Randy had one of these types on HuntTalk Radio or Elk Talk soon. There are also a ton of great YouTube resources (Dudley, Chris Bee, Dan Staton/ElkShape). As Dave mentions above, though, individual coaching and mentorship goes so, so much further than reading or listening about it. Find someone who knows what they are doing and are willing to give you some pointers. Then, it's just up to you to practice consistently and frequently enough to make the shot process muscle memory.

Finally, a bit of practical advice: you *will* slap the fire out of your bow-side forearm with your string. The sooner you accept this and make peace with it, the better.