Anyone live in or purchase a modular home?

Robertsj22

Wife and i are thinking about buying land and building a house. We are thinking about going the modular route on a two story. Was wondering if anyone has any experience in this

We lived in one for a while. The quality is not quite as good as a stick built home, but they have come a long way in recent years.

When I was doing restoration work I worked on quite a few modulars. More common plumbing issues because of how they are built. They used to be more difficult to find replacement cabinets and such because they weren't standard sizes. And also I remember owners having more issues finding insurance coverage because they were modulars at least in the area I worked in.

I haven't lived in one personally, but as a REALTOR I have found the newer ones have come a long way from what the 80's modular homes are.

bedford pa huh? I grew up in Hollidaysburg.

We were thinking of the same thing as well, the new modular's look pretty nice!

I can give you some incite on them. That's part of the industry I am involved in.

First there are two types, one where the floor is a steel frame with decking on top of it (think RV style frame), the other use a traditional wood floor joist. The steel frame ones you will have a harder time selling as they usually require a special loan.

Most doors and cabinets won't be standard sizes. This could even effect some of the plumbing.

You usually can upgrade items like insulation, drywall thickness.

Look into delivery and set up cost. Some sites they can't deliver to or get the unit in.

If you go this route, visit the plant so you can see construction methods first hand.

We almost bought on. What killed the deal was freight, it was north of 30k. When we factored that into our loan and down payment and the loan to value was close to 100%. We got lucky and found a way better 2007 stick built for significantly less.