Alaska for the paranoid

rwbowser

I will cut to the chase: I want to hunt Alaska but I’m afraid to because of the bush plane situation. I know the stats, planes are plenty safe, my dad was a Navy pilot and instructor and I’ve flown in 6 to 8 seat twins many times for Bahamas fishing trips. But...I have 3 very young kids and don’t like the idea of flying anything single engine until they’re grown. It’s just not a risk I’m willing to take. Any recommendations on how to make this happen? I live in Florida so driving is out of the question. I’m happy to hunt with an outfitter as I’m still learning and need all the help I can get. Thanks!

If you REALLY want to go after the bigger game in Alaska you will more than likely need to fly in somewhere. Single engine is the go-to plane up there for most outfitters unless going to a big base camp somewhere with multiple hunters. Not sure how much is available by river travel. It can be done without flying but the success rate goes way down.

As a really hard core hunter, flying down river valleys was one of the best parts of the trip. You've got plenty of time once your kids are older. Having said that, I bet lots of AK locals shoot moose every year without flying. Seems like prices are so high for everything maybe you couldn't afford to fly around all the time to hunt, but just guessing.

Last edited by a moderator:
If you REALLY want to go after the bigger game in Alaska you will more than likely need to fly in somewhere. Single engine is the go-to plane up there for most outfitters unless going to a big base camp somewhere with multiple hunters. Not sure how much is available by river travel. It can be done without flying but the success rate goes way down.
I’m happy to do the big base camp with several hunters and then going by truck, boat, ATV or horseback! Just avoiding the super cubs for the time being.

*nobushplanesyet