6.5 Grendel vs .243 win

Brian in Montana

I have no experience with the Grendel, but a decent knowledge of what it does down range. The .243 I've shot much of my life. I'm thinking about a rifle my kids could shoot deer with primarily so my question is entirely about recoil. How do they compare?

I've never considered the .243 to be a kicker until I watched my 11 y/o daughter shoot it. Grendel might be an alternative.

Rifle recoil has many factors such as rifle weight, bullet weight and even recoil pad/proper stock fit. Both the 243win and 6.5 grendel are lighter recoiling rifles and probably very close to the same.
You could load up a reduced charge load with a lighter bullet in the 243win if it’s to much recoil for the kids.

Get her an AR in 6.5 Grendel or 6.8Spc. No recoil, lightweight rifle and an adjustable stock to boot. Depending on where you hunt and the ranges you are shooting, either of those cartridges may be a great alternative. I have a 6.8 AR that I use for deer and it is one of my favorite rifles to bring to the woods.

I have no experience with the .243 but I've been considering one or a 6 Creedmoor. I have buddies that use 6.5 Grendel on hogs and I think they'd be great for deer.

To add to the list of options coleslaw mentioned, I'd recommend a .300 Ham'r from Wilson Combat. The rifles are expensive complete but if you're capable of building you can get into one without taking out a second mortgage. It uses a standard bolt and only requires a barrel change. I put a compensator and an adjustable gas block that really helped keep the muzzle flat and the recoil down. You'd want to use .300 Blackout magazines for reliable feeding. This will be my first hunting season carrying one for deer but Bill Wilson has killed everything from baboon to elk to zebra with it.

I have both.
and a 6mm rem.
The 6.5 recoil is slightly less. A Creemore is totaly different we have one too.