Caribou Gear

Who Processes Their Own Game

Emerica8212

Good afternoon,

I was hoping to get a general sense of how many people are doing their own game processing.

I’m a relatively new hunter but am a chef by trade. I think I take it for granted that I can comfortably process game and create products at home with relative ease. I really enjoy the entire process, in fact, processing my animals is one of my favorite parts of the cycle.

How many others are doing everything on their own? How many are dropping it off somewhere? Pros and cons?

I've done everything on a couple animals, cutting steaks, grinding burger, and making sausage. A couple of animals I've dropped off whole.

I mostly do a hybrid where I drop off boned out quarters and have the butcher cut steaks and grind. I realized I'd rather pay someone $200 than do this myself.

I've always done all of my own. The biggest downside, and it's increasingly a big one, is the time required to process my animals and my kids' animals during the fall. When practical I freeze and deal with it in Nov/Dec, but sometimes it's not practical, and in the case of canning it makes a bad product to freeze first. The price keeps me home butchering, but there may come a day when I start dropping some off.

i'm back and forth with a lean towards doing it myself.

i'm a big fan of leveraging my money for more time in my life, but i also love money savings and the satisfaction of doing it myself.

done 5 myself and had 2 done by butchers in my short hunting career so far. small sample and it's likely biased, but the stuff i've done myself has seemed to taste better

I've been doing my own for about 8 years.
Began as a cost saver.
I keep it simple , grinding for hamburger/sausage patties, and choice cuts for steaks.
It is satisfying but not my favorite thing to do, mostly because I do all of it without any family assistance.:(