Son's First Mule Deer

jabber

Many people don't know this (and a lot don't care;)) but Texas has a draw system for hunting on public land here also. I have been applying for 10 years and have not been drawn yet. This year I applied my son for Elephant Mountain WMA youth hunt in far west Texas and he beat the odds and got drawn. 1 of 8 hunters drawn.

It was about a 9 hour drive from the house to the WMA and we had to be there at 9:00 on Friday morning, so we left the house around 6:00 am on Thanksgiving Day heading west. I do not suggest traveling on Turkey Day if you don't have to, the traffic wasn't bad, but finding a place to eat lunch was difficult as almost every place was shut down. Finally found an IHOP open.

We got to Elephant Mountain around 4:00 and hustled to get the tent setup and camp ready before dark.

the next morning we show up at the headquarters for the meeting a little early and was able to snap a few pics of some of the heads they had picked up from the sheep that are on the mountain. Here are a couple of pics of them.

DSCF3285.jpg

DSCF3288.jpg

DSCF3289.jpg

Finally got the orientation out of the way, and headed out to our assigned compartment around noon. We had about 2000 acres of the WMA to ourselves. We pretty much spent all afternoon friday trying to learn our area and do some glassing also. We ended up seeing 22 does, 2 bucks and 7 sheep that afternoon. One of the bucks was about 22" wide but was only a 2x2 and while it was only 250 yards from us, it was in a different compartment that we weren't allowed to hunt. We ended up coming up with a game plan for the next morning of setting up on a small hill with the sun to our back so we could glass the bottom of the mountain and the area around us.