Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

2023 Deer hunting Recap (MT, KY, IN)

This is my first time making an original post on here. In my offseason (pre-turkey season) boredom I keep seeing people posting their season recaps. I really enjoy reading through these so I figured I would make a post of my own just to share how 2023 went for me.

In the past I have hunted a ton every season (Deer, Ducks, Turkeys). This year was going to be different because we had a newborn baby. I was trying to be considerate of my wife and family this year about how many days I was going to go out. I had a few hunting trips planned and I knew that if I was going to keep the peace in my house I would need to limit the amount of time that I was out in a tree stand. For this reason I barely bow hunted at all leading up to gun season. This was tough for me because I love bow hunting. I have not always been the best husband in the past when it comes to hunting season. I was determined this year to not put myself in a situation where my wife was upset with me about hunting so much.

My season kicked off in late October when me and a few friends made a trip to Montana for general deer season. This was our second time hunting in this area and we have started to figure it out a little bit so we had some ideas of where we wanted to start the hunt. Our trip was great. We saw tons of Elk, Pronghorn, Upland birds, Mule Deer and Whitetails which is very cool for us since we are used to only seeing whitetails and turkeys back home.