Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Refund for Tags

Mainer207

Hey guys,

This is my first year of dipping my toes into western hunting, and I will only be buying points rather than applying. Next year I will begin applying for hunts. I've been doing research on how the systems work, and it's all pretty confusing, but I'm slowly catching on.

One thing I'm wondering is if it is possible to turn in a tag after successfully drawing. For example, if I draw for Wyoming antelope and Montana deer can I return one of these tags for a refund? The reason I ask is that I will not be able to take the time to hunt both states, as I'd be driving from the east.

Obviously, I'd like to be out there hunting, so I'd like to increase my odds by applying in multiple states for tags, but am I running the risk of being stuck with a big tag/license fee without being able to get out there?

If that's the case, how do other guys handle it who don't have the time or money to get out west for multiple hunts? Do you rely on over the counter as your backup plan and only apply for one tag per year?

Thanks for any input!

Hey guys,

This is my first year of dipping my toes into western hunting, and I will only be buying points rather than applying. Next year I will begin applying for hunts. I've been doing research on how the systems work, and it's all pretty confusing, but I'm slowly catching on.

One thing I'm wondering is if it is possible to turn in a tag after successfully drawing. For example, if I draw for Wyoming antelope and Montana deer can I return one of these tags for a refund? The reason I ask is that I will not be able to take the time to hunt both states, as I'd be driving from the east.

Obviously, I'd like to be out there hunting, so I'd like to increase my odds by applying in multiple states for tags, but am I running the risk of being stuck with a big tag/license fee without being able to get out there?