Preference points.... worth it??

sneakem

Just being bored and killing time soooo... Just curious as to what everyone thoughts are on building points for those hard to draw areas? Is it worth the time?

I guess that every year I am faced with that question, as are most hunters in the point game. Honestly I quit building points for deer years ago and have focused on easier to draw tags and hunting every year. I get to hunt every year in WY and CO and have taken some very nice animals with a lot of foot work put into the hunt. Elk I have been saving for years in WY and CO. It seems to me to be the same scenario as I faced with deer. Would I be better off wasting the points and hunting every year, working hard to find that once in a lifetime animal or waiting to draw that premium tag. Fortunately in CO I can build elk points and chase them every year with an OTC tag. WY is a different story, as I am a non resident, which is where I see the flip side of the coin. I wait for these premium tags, while I go with friends and watch them kill really nice bulls every year on gen tags that you could pick up almost every year. Makes you think that over time you may be better off just hunting with everyone on the general. Even though one would think that getting in a "premium" unit with limited pressure would increase those odds.... do they really? You think about all the factors that could happen in the time it takes to draw a tag.... winter kill...weather conditions...increased tags to control population and preference point influx... increased predation and so many other variables that could potentially reduce quality and conditions. I mean statistically are you really any better off???