Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Post your Hobbys (other then hunting) just for fun

I started playing the guitar about 30 years ago, but played infrequently for a long time. Then, about a year and a half ago, I made a resolution to play more and I've been playing every chance I can, since. I'm having alot of fun with it. This Fall, I "built" this guitar from a kit. It's really more assembly and basic wood working, than guitar building, but I learned a ton about guitars in the process and the end result is pretty good. Covid times are good times to play a musical instrument...IMG_2898.jpg

My main hobby is SCUBA diving (with some occasional free diving thrown in). My wife and I are both Divemasters, and it is a great hobby to do together. In fact, we just lead our first dives as professionals this past weekend on the Mendocino coast.

with sea lions.jpg

I also enjoy some amount of hunting underwater. Got a couple of spear guns this summer and have had a little success.
1595210874424.jpg

my latest hobby is finding all the unique ways to use a pellet grill besides just smoking the crap out of meat

i've basically given up on snowboarding at this point in life - such a shit show in this state. that money is better used on hunting anyway.

i road bike a fair amount. i love it.

like snowboarding i've given up on mountain biking too. i struggle with a community that seemingly for the most part desires to put trails on every square inch of the landscape and wants their bikes in wilderness. and it's also kinda turned into a shit show in CO

other than that it's mostly fly fishing, backpacking, trail running and peak bagging - what everyone else does in CO i guess

Way too many to count.

I've had a saltwater reef tank for nearly 20 years. It was amazing, now it is mainly just neglected. Here is a picture from it's glory days.

7102124.jpg

Tank size for perspective my wife and 2 of my nieces inside it. It is 122" long X 28" tall X 28" wide. 415 gallons.

8654448.jpg