Payroll tax help

Addicting

I’ve been having issues with my employer and their accountant. They keep telling me nothing is wrong. Most of 2023 I didn’t pay federal taxes. I ended up switching my W4 to single and zero to have some taxes withheld so I’m not in a bind.

Now for 2024 I’m Married with 2 exceptions and $0 is being withheld for federal taxes again.

I had only one day and the Holliday pay on this pay period and my gross was $343. No federal taxes withheld again. Previous story is I didn’t make enough per pay period. I think that is total BS based on what I’ve read on the IRS website.

Is there anyone familiar with payroll taxes? @Big Fin

I'm no expert, but that doesn't sound even remotely correct.

Be especially careful because if you aren't paying taxes in throughout the year, the IRS will add penalties on top of what is owed to them. For example, small business owners have to pay in quarterly what they estimate their tax bill to be to avoid those penalties. Then at the end of the year you true up with the IRS

I'll be honest mate, you need a personal CPA. If your taxes are easy, the cost to have a professional do them - and answer questions like this - more than pays for itself.

Even if it is weekly, $343 X 52 = $17,836. Standard deduction is $29,000. That is showing that you would not have taxable income so you wouldn't have any tax withheld.

It is going to look at each pay period independently. If you made $3,000 in a pay period it would look at $3,000 x 52 = $156,000 and it would have withholding that week.

I'll be honest mate, you need a personal CPA. If your taxes are easy, the cost to have a professional do them - and answer questions like this - more than pays for itself.