Caribou Gear

nutrition & hydradtion...best?

TheSleepyHunter

Wondering what others have found to work the best over long hunts, specifically nutrition. I'll be chasing muleys in UT at the end of the month, its about 4.5 miles in to the area my friend and i have been scouting. We're likely to do 10-20 mi on the actual hunt. Its my first time on a backpacking hunt and I want to make sure I have the right food and not crap.

Also, one of my concerns is hydration. I tend to sweat quickly and a lot, there aren't any water sources that I could filter and "top off" my containers where we'll be hunting. I was thinking of taking a 3L bladder of water and 2 32oz gatorades, luckily it won't be as warm as it was during scouting trips. Anyone figure out a great hydration regimen for a hunt like this?

Check out Wildnerness Athlete and also Paleo Meals to Go for food and nutrition. PM me if you have any specific questions and I have discount codes for both. Good luck!

Every person is different in water needs. Just take enough.

As far as nutrition this is what I do per day-

1x double/triple serving Mountain House meal
1x Advocare Meal Replacment shake
5x Slim Jims
3x mini snickers
3x Peanut Butter cups
2x hot cocoa/apple cider/coffee

The MH is for dinner and the meal Replacment is breakfast. On top of that I take enough Advocare Spark and Rehydrate to last the whole trip. Rarely am I drinking water during the day that doesn't have both mixed in.

If you don't want to screw with mixing stuff in your water, take some electrolyte capsules and pop a few of those each day.

For food it doesn't really matter what the hell you eat, so long as you are getting plenty of protein and fat in your daily intake. Go higher than you normally would for intake of both.

Make sure the food tastes good to you, because sometimes it's very difficult to keep your appetite up if you are at high altitude and going hard.

I get dehydrated and crampy pretty quick as I sweat like Trump at an audit.