Elk Water

Mountain Mule

There is a location I would like to hunt where I only know of one water source. The problem is, this water source gets hammered by elk and tastes like straight elk piss. I have tried to filter, boil, and even dig new holes a couple hundred yards down to aquire ground filtered water, but it still tastes like piss. This spot would be a brute to carry in enough water for it to actually mean something. Does anyone have a method for getting the elk taste out of a water source?

I think the water would be safe to drink after filtering or boiling, but I just cannot stomach it. Last year my hunting partner and I had to bail after a day and a half of drinking it and using it to rehydrate food. Any ideas?

I've been using a Katadyn pocket for at least 10 years and it's made some great tasting water from some scummy mud holes.
As others have mentioned, put a little powdered Gatorade in if its only the tastes that bothers you. A teaspoon is enough to make about a liter of "slightly lemony" water.
We always have a surplus of lemons that end up getting thrown out. I've sliced them, dehydrated, then ran through a food processor until its almost a powder. This is another option if you don't like that Gatorade taste (I'm not a Gatorade fan)
Screenshot_20230904_144220.jpg

Thanks for the comments everyone. I'll order a new filter and I will also try digging a little upstream.

Edit: Any filters that someone would reccomend/have experience with?

Thanks for the comments everyone. I'll order a new filter and I will also try digging a little upstream.

Edit: Any filters that someone would reccomend/have experience with?