Limited vs. General

lastmountainman

Ok, I know that I'm new to hunting out west, so i'm sorry for the stupid questions.
First, what is the big different between a limited tag and a general tag. I see that the general tag is good in Wyoming for the entire region. Also it appears in Montana that a General is good for the entire state.
So with limited tags, I don't see the benefit. I must be missing something big.

Second question. In Montana I called the regional office for the Missouri breaks. When I spoke to the lady I was told that I could draw a general\combo license with ok odds, but getting the permit would be tough. My question is, if I draw a combo license but don't draw a permit, where can I hunt. What good is a license if you don't get the permit to hunt in the area. Sorry for these two dumb questions, but trying to understand this for my dad's sake as well as mine. Thanks.

Lastmountainman.

I can address the WYoming Question.

Each unit for deer is either a unit or Region tag. the unit tags are usually harder to draw, and require more preference points. If you draw a region tag you may hunt the units within that region When the season for that Unit is open. There is a chart in the regs that detail the projected opening day for each unit. Clear as mud?

Ok, I know that I'm new to hunting out west, so i'm sorry for the stupid questions.
First, what is the big different between a limited tag and a general tag. I see that the general tag is good in Wyoming for the entire region. Also it appears in Montana that a General is good for the entire state.
So with limited tags, I don't see the benefit. I must be missing something big.