Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Interesting Video Why 5% Get 95% of the Elk

WyoDoug

Interesting video and this guy does make some good points. I never hunted the first 10 years I became a resident because either the wife was laid up from surgery or I was and there just was not the budget to support it. Since 2016 when I started hunting again and as a Wyoming resident, I have shot only 3 elk, no deer or bear and lots of antelope. I definitely want my elk this year even if it's a cow.

Comparing apple's to apples, I would agree that it used to be that learning one unit well was a great idea....

Now, its getting hard to go back to those same spots when the hunting pressure is monumental and it has changed the animals behaviors drastically and in some situations the unit is almost void of animals all together.

Even in a new unit I can typically find the elk within 1-3 days. If you cant do this, then you'll likely always struggle and maybe it is best that you stay in one unit and learn it and deal with the hunting pressure if it is there.

Actually was very cool to hear when I hadn't really heard in other commentary on why so few kill so many, which is about knowing a specific area. Makes total sense.

I always wondered that when I see very fresh scat, but no sound or sight of elk then head to a totally different area, who knows if the next time I'm back in that drainage if the elk are also on their off day from that spot. On the other hand, if I consider where they might have moved to then I'm thinking I'll have a better chance. Going to practice it this year and see...

Comparing apple's to apples, I would agree that it used to be that learning one unit well was a great idea....

Now, its getting hard to go back to those same spots when the hunting pressure is monumental and it has changed the animals behaviors drastically and in some situations the unit is almost void of animals all together.