Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Info on field dressing/quartering elk

nhwaterfowler

I'm interested in doing some OYO elk hunting in the next couple years but one thing that I have no experience in is field dressing and hauling out an elk. More specifically what you need to do to cut them up and pack the meat/antlers out. Can anyone point me towards some good books, websites, videos etc so I can educate myself over the next few years and maybe practice on some deer. Out here in New Hampshire I just gut and drag the rest of the deer out of the woods and into the back of my truck then its off to the butcher, there's no packing the animal out. Any help would be appreciated.

I don't know of any books or dvds, but I would suggest that you start butchering your own deer starting this year. Cutting up an elk is exactly the same. You can probably find plenty of stuff on youtube.

Check out the Gutless video under the link Brentster posted. I've used it for elk, moose, and deer and in my opinion, it's the only way to go.

I almost always drag mine out like you do with a deer. Hunt up and drag down. Sometimes I have to make smaller pieces and sometimes I call in help but generally I just get to work.

A good friend of mine uses a method following this "gutless" action and enjoys the heck out of it!
I have always been a "fisherman" style of field dressing... Gut it out! However, TBH, this is simply due to my lack of knowledge on the different locations of meat... I'll quarter it, etc. for packing out though never tried a method as presented in the video's or as my friend does it.

Thanks for the video link to Elk101.com! I hoppe to try this method this year. It simply appears a lot more productive method of getting the job done. I am sure to fubar it a bit - though from now until season, I'll be reading up a bit more on the butchering / field dressing. learning locations, etc.

Fantastic link! Thanks again!