MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

How to cook grouse during fire ban?

Qubo

Want the bird hunters opinions. I’ll be hunting this week in Colorado with a friend. He has a muzzleloader elk tag and I’m doing the calling. I managed to pick up an archery deer tag after the draw so I’ll bring my both with. Since I have a small game license I was going to bring Judo points for grouse and cook over the fire. But there is a state wide fire ban right now. I have no reel bird cooking experience. We might be backpacking some of it so will only have jet boil. Rest of the time we’ll be at a camper. It has a propane stove and grill but no oven. Should I just save them until I get home? Or maybe just not shoot any. Thanks

I would also like to know more.

I wish it were something fancy. All I did was breast and debone a little grouse I shot. Dice that up and toss it into a boiling thing of water with Maruchan ramen noodles/seasoning. Cracked the bigger bones in there for some marrow but that was about as fancy as it got. Probably didn’t do it justice but I was young.

I passed on a bunch of grouse last week because of the fire ban. I could have shot about 6 of those goofy birds. It’s as if they are trying really hard to get away but don’t make it very far.

Bone everything but drumsticks. Slice the half breasts in half lengthways. Brown in frying pan with butter. Then cover boned meat with mushroom soup and simmer. Take along a bottle of liquid smoke to add that campfire flavour. I sprinkle in a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce. Flavoring is up to you.

I wish it were something fancy. All I did was breast and debone a little grouse I shot. Dice that up and toss it into a boiling thing of water with Maruchan ramen noodles/seasoning. Cracked the bigger bones in there for some marrow but that was about as fancy as it got. Probably didn’t do it justice but I was young.