First Test With Hammers.

Qubo

Did my first load test with Hammer bullets and all I have to say is wow. Did the 10 shot charge ladder and I am very pleased with how they grouped even at different charge weights. Also shot 4 fouling rounds to start at the same charge weight and they were less than MOA. I am fairly new to reloading and this is my first time using a chronograph, and my first time doing the 10 shot method (I did 12). Hope to get some advice for the next step. I am trying to decide if I should just go with 69.5 and test that as my charge or maybe go more in depth and shoot 3 shot groups of like 69.5, 69.7, and 70, then compare both the velocities of those and the groups. What do you all think?
I’m shooting 300wm, Nosler brass, Federal 210 primers, IMR4451 powder, and 166gr Shock Hunters.FAFFE8B2-9330-4365-9D96-4BEE3D984B95.png

Last edited:
Not sure, I've never done a ladder test & my chrono is a POS Chrony! :)

That being said, I would check the cases for signs of pressure. Any ejector marks on the case heads? Evidence of flattened primers? Hard extraction? If any of these occurred, that might be your end point. Then I would load up 3 of each charge to determine which charge groups best.

Beyond that, I would measure the magazine to determine the maximum cartridge overall length. If room allowed, I would try different seating depths to optimize the load once I had determined which charge grouped best.

Good luck with it!

Steve from Hammer recommends working up until you reach pressure then backing off a grain from that and see how it groups. Like the question above, did you reach any of the pressure signs @Curvebow mentioned?