Need some load development opinions

wtrfwlhunter

071483F4-FB77-4601-906C-9C2449E60488.jpeg
F26B93F0-2ADC-4496-B5CF-02BE3D88C392.jpeg2B22671D-BA47-485E-8B00-2E716A52E5C9.jpeg

I’m new to reloading and have been working on a load for my 300 win mag. I did a pressure test, and then have more or less been following optimal charge weight method.

Gun: Tikka T3x roughtech ember with about 100 shots through the barrel
Components: Ramshot Hunter Powder, Peterson Brass, 180 TTSX, Winchester Large Magnum Primer

Last week I shot all three of these groups in a row. The target circle is .8 inches and I was feeling pretty good. I’m definitely not a trained shooter so confidence was high. Since then I have tried to confirm the loads again, but have not been able to tighten up my groups less than an inch and my point of impact is consistently left as well with no adjustments to the scope.

Like I said, not a trained shooter so my first thought is that the variation I’m seeing the last couple times is because of me, although there’s nothing I can directly think of that’s causing it. Everything else has been consistent with the loads.

I wanted to get some opinions from the brain trust here. Would you
Lean towards reproaching load development or towards variation in my shooting? 9 shots in a row less than an inch seemed statistically significant to me as an indication of good loads, but I’m starting to lose a little confidence. Interested in opinions.

Last edited:
If it’s not you, and it may be you, then check your rings/bases.

What’s your initial impressions of the RT Ember? @BAKPAKR is a horrible influence and he peer pressured me into buying one.
Extremely impressed with the gun. It checked all the boxes I was looking for and was really the only rifle that did it without costing an additional 1k.

If it’s not you, and it may be you, then check your rings/bases.