Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Ever been to Latvia?

MNHunter

Ok. I know this is odd, but have any of you ever been to Latvia? I'm going next week and I just thought I'd see if any of you guys had been there. If so, do you have any recommendations for restaurants or things to do? A couple years ago I posted about the Czech Republic on a forum and got some good info. Well, how bout it?

I spent 2 days in Riga the summer of '90, but honestly I don't even remember what we did there other than shop for souvenirs and eat at a horrible restaurant. I still have a Latvian flag somewhere that I bought on the street for about 50 cents. I'm sure it's changed dramatically since that was back in the communist days. I think there are some neat churches to see if you're into that sort of thing. I do remember the people were incredibly friendly as with most eastern block countries from my experience and very proud as well. I was an exchange student in Moscow 1991-92 and my host father used to travel to Latvia often for work, but I never had the chance to go back with him. St. Petersburg is not far away and there are a million things to see there.

If I were going to that part of the world, I'd look into hunting capercaillie. No idea how expensive or involved it is, but I think it's about the right time of year for hunting them. Read this if you've never heard of them before...
http://www.russianhunting.com/grouseart.shtml

You're not going there to pick up a new wife are you? ;) ... Have a great trip!

Thanks BillyGoat,
I’m going over there to play in a hockey tournament, not for a new wife ;) . I’ll be in Riga the whole time and not planning on going into Russia. If I were, I’d look into the hunting you mentioned.

What is this talk about shopping for a wife? Any links?:D

Kidding, good luck on the trip MNHunter.