Drop chart for 280AI

MITCHMO

Hi all, I have doing some shooting with my new 280 AI using federal factory 155 terminal ascent that seem to shoot at about 3000fps. I probably need to run a few more through to get an average but that’s what I have so far. I seem to not be matching the predictions for drop very well. I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on how to gain a little more confidence in understanding what’s causing the difference. I’d really like a good match so I can easily make the shift when I go from 500’ elevation to 8000+.

The orange line is what I should have at home with the standard charts. The black is what I shot. The blue is the shift to account for the change of altitude if I fit a curve to my actual results. I’m a total novice so I’m looking to learn. 46B46327-E60B-4498-98AC-1E5C01CEF3B1.png

I set up a 1/2” thick aluminum plate at 625 and shot one time with two different loads. The shot on the right with some bullet jacket in the hole is the 155 terminal ascent. The shot on the left was a 162ELDX.
2F1825B9-2DA7-4AF3-862A-2A59DF7CB58A.jpeg

Last edited:
To offer any thoughts we would need to see the "actual" shot data - the number of shots at each distance, the specific distances, the "scatter"/variance of the data. If you are just doing 2 or 3 shots at each distance you probably are inside of the statistical range of random variation.

Also from 0-400y your actual and theoretical are a very close match so you are good for 98% of good hunting shots.

To offer any thoughts we would need to see the "actual" shot data - the number of shots at each distance, the specific distances, the "scatter"/variance of the data. If you are just doing 2 or 3 shots at each distance you probably are inside of the statistical range of random variation.

Also from 0-400y your actual and theoretical are a very close match so you are good for 98% of good hunting shots.