Big Two's

BraidenR

While scouting last month I found a number of larger forkies. All of them were in a general area. It is my own belief that this a trait that these bucks inherited, and will pass on. I spoke with another individual that claimed this is just an anomaly in that particular deer and wont be a trait they give to their young. Another individual claimed these bucks were the same age, just different growth. I am no expert, but I am looking to learn. So lets see your largest to points, whats your guess on their age, and if you think they will pass on this trait or not.

Personally, having spent most my life hunting and working cows in this generally area, The smaller buck is a great representative of 99.9% of the two points in the region. He is a typical forky. Because of this I believe the larger buck to be a year older, and I found two others with about a half mile radius of the "older buck" that almost mirror him. I know I didnt jump him because I was sitting in the same spot with the spotter seeing all these bucks in the same day. Photos did not turn out on the others( to much wind and shaking on them).
20190906_083138[1].jpg20190906_083054[1].jpg

Way too many factors to make anything more than just a wild guess. Age, genetics, nutrition, pure chance ... even just a cold start to the growing season could cause a higher percentage of bucks to grow smaller than normal antlers.

MeatEater had a biologist on their podcast some months ago and he expressed this multiple times. They were able to "grow" different size antlers simply by modifying quality of forage...at least that's what I remember. Definitely worth another listen.

I seem to recall the same thing, and I think the nutrition the buck’s mother gained while the buck was still in the womb was key. They did a controlled study with deer out of the Dakotas.