Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Bad Hunter Education Experience

Elkwhisper

So my 11 year old daughter was supposed to start hunter safety tonight and she was really excited. Problem was I got called out of town on business and couldn't go with her. No problem I thought....she has a friend going with her who's dad would keep an eye on them and she is a very smart and mature young lady who I had no doubt could handle it. My daughter and I studied the book and completed all the recommended quizzes prior to the first class as instructed and she did really good and we had a lot of fun working together on it.

Well tonight she showed up for class, and according to my wife, was greeted by some very unprofessional (bad example) volunteers who were pretty rude at check in and really didn't do much to help calm the nerves of a young lady who is super excited to start hunting.

Apparently the first thing they did was to give them the full test which I was told was over 50 questions. No instruction, no discussion, no help, nothing. And when my daughter turned in a less than passing test (though not by much) she and her friend were told that they failed the course and had to go home..... So I am super confused. I signed my daughter up for a "Hunter Education Classroom Course" . The course was to take place tonight, tomorrow and most of the day on Saturday. When exactly was the EDUCATION supposed to take place? They didn't teach her anything and all but chased her out the door.

She called me tonight in tears because we had worked so hard together on completing the workbook and all the quizzes and she was super excited about taking the class and getting her first hunting license. Through the tears I heard about mean guys with lips full of tobacco, spit cups, and rude language. Apparently at one point the class was asked who watched hunting shows on TV. My daughter along with several other kids raised their hands, only to be told they were "idiots" for watching that stuff.