.260 Rem. Model 7

Muskeez

I'm totally new to hunting with a rifle (not legal in my part of Iowa other than fur-bearers.) A friend can get me a Rem. Model 7, .260 that is over 5 yrs old but still new in box from a friend of his that just has never used it. It has a laminated stock and blued barrel. What would this gun be worth, and more importantly, would it be a good choice of caliber for my upcoming antelope hunt with my daughters and for a future mule deer hunt? Thanks for any advise!!

The 260 Rem is an excellent deer/antelope cartridge. Perfect for kids with moderate recoil.
I think NIB they retailed for something like $750-800. One sold on 24hrCampfire that was slightly used (less than 75rds shot) with laminate stock for $625.

I agree with the above, great chambering for middlin' size big game and even elk with the right bullets. However, beings that you are not in a rifle state for hunting I assume you don't handload. Though many companies make ammo for 260 Rem, there are not as many options nor is availability as good as many other comparable chamberings. Unless the price is a screaming deal I'd suggest a similar rifle in 243 Win or 308 Win for the greater availability and options in factory ammunition.

Also, IMO, the laminated stocked Model 7, don't handle all that well. I find them quite butt heavy, with the 18.5" barrels being worse at this than the 20" barrels. Putting a lighter stock on the 20" barreled one changes things in a big way, but ups the cost quite a bit as well. Like I said above, if it's a screaming deal I'd still get it, but just something to think about. FWIW...

The .260 is an excellent caliber, as it has low recoil and muzzle blast. As stated, ammo is much more readily available with other options. Since you don't spend a tremendous amount of time hunting with a rifle, I believe that a .308 would be your best option. If it is a great deal, it would still be worth buying, though.