Caribou Gear Tarp

2014 Dall Sheep hunt

Bambistew

While standing at the edge of a glacial fed river, airing up a small pack raft, I muttered to myself, “Just another way to die…” It seems that every year I hunt sheep; another life threating scenario is presents itself. This year happened to be a water crossing.

This year will mark the 6 season I’ve hunted sheep in Alaska. I’ve been hunting big game for nearly 25 years, which is hard to believe. I feel that of all the animals, all the adventures, all the country I’ve hunted, nothing captivates me as much as hunting Dall sheep. Each hunt is an adventure, a learning experience, and creates memories I’ll never forget. I moved to Alaska with one thing in mind, hunting, and hunting sheep was at the top of the list. Little did I know how much sheep hunting would consume my sole, and thankfully my wife’s as well, ha.

Schedules, babies, and prior plans worked against setting up my 2014 hunt it seemed. My wife couldn’t make the trip again due to taking care of our young son. A good friend commited then had to cancel due to family commitments, and Indian Larry had to work and had plans to hunt caribou. I was reluctant to ask a couple other friends because I knew they had sheep hunting plans already, and didn’t want them to change their plans just for me… looking back friends don’t mind doing this sort of thing, especially sheep hunters it seems. I know if I would have done the same and wouldn’t have thought twice about it.