2023 Montana Bighorn Sheep Tag/Hunt...

BrowningCitori

I have been a Montana resident for over 30 years. I only recently discovered HuntTalk, been lurking for a few months. I have enjoyed the stories so much I decided to use my notes from last fall to write up my own story. I have been lucky to draw some great tags over the years. I apply for MSG every year in Montana. However, I am largely a bird hunter.

In 2018, my friend, Dean, drew a 680 ram tag. He had hunted for 10 days in September but mostly got rained on. In late October he calls me and says “any interest in joining me”, I said sure, took time off work and spent about 10 days over the course of two trips in 680. He had a camper on the river for base camp and borrowed jet boat for river access. I got to look at a lot of sheep and see a lot of HD 680 and 482 from water and land. Dean didn’t kill a ram, while I was there. He spent 41 days looking for a monster and in the end settled for 175 class ram. We saw some big rams on the river bank but in 482 and rumor was there was better land access (a few all weather roads). I decided after this that I would apply for 482 instead of 680 (probably wouldn’t matter, I will never draw).

Fast forward to late afternoon May 12th, 2023 and my friends start asking if I drew any MSG tags. I go to bed thinking, no way I drew anything. May 13th, up early with coffee and decide to look at MT FWP site, SHOCK, it says SUCCESSFUL 482 RAM TAG! WAIT ? WHAT? My fall plans just changed. I am now retired, time to hunt isn’t an issue. WAIT! WHAT?

May 17th, FWP says there has been a mistake with several MSG drawings. WTH! After several days, it is decided we all get tags (let the mental roller coaster begin, more on that later). I am going sheep hunting, I am not going sheep hunting. WAIT? WHAT? It appears I am going sheep hunting…