2012 Southern AZ Coues Deer Hunt

dalbo

Due to a SNAFU with my brother and dad I wasn't able to put in for a leftover deer tag in the unit I normally hunt. I ended up getting a late October tag for a different unit down on the border that I've never been to.

I studied maps, talked to a friend that's hunted that unit a few times and drove down there a week before the hunt for a quick recon of a couple areas.

Origionally my dad was supposed come down with me but something came up at his work last minute so I had to go down solo.

I left my house at 4:30 Saturday morning and was parked at my first hunting spot by 8:30. I put my pack on, loaded my 257 Wby and hiked to the top of a nearby hill that overlooked dirt tank in a small basin. A young fork-horn came into the water at 9:30. The distance to the buck was 480 yards, I could have closed the distance to 400 and been more comfortable with the shot but I didn't want the hunt to end so soon.

I watched the buck drink and feed until two other hunters came in from the other side of the basin and spooked him. I continued to glass the basin till about 11:30 and called it quits. One buck spotted the first morning seemed like a good start to my little advendure.

My wife and dad didn't want me to camp in the boondocks by myself with all the illegal traffic so close to the border so I made reservations to camp at Patagoina Lake State Park for the first two nights and would pay by the day after that if needed. For the record I hate camping at busy campgrounds but if I ended up staying all week the idea of being able to jump in the lake to cool off or take a hot shower did hold some appeal.