Caribou Gear

Where to find Eurasian Collared Doves in Colorado?

Interesting, I'll have to look up the regs here again. The USAFA has different rules than on an Army base, so I'm still learning these ones. Luckily, their rules regarding storage of firearms is the same as every other installation (just different forms).

My friend has great success with collared eurasians just outside of Wellington in N Colorado. There is some great public land just east of I-25, east of Wellington that has been productive in the past.
I used to hunt the Game units out there, east of I25 when I lived in Foco. We did ok. The closer you are to fields, the better it will be. There is on HMA that is used to grow corn. Look there.

I used to hunt the Game units out there, east of I25 when I lived in Foco. We did ok. The closer you are to fields, the better it will be. There is on HMA that is used to grow corn. Look there.
Fair enough, sorry for the delay, I don't receive notifications apparently.

I'll definitely look that up, thank you.

So for literal craps and giggles (don't know how the site feels about the "s" word), I printed off 6 collared dove decoy's on post, left them up for a couple of days, and today went out and did a few dove calls after I swore I saw some. Sure as crap, 2 of the collared doves perched about 15 feet and about 15 feet up in a tree away from me while one further down the road was definitely responding. I'm going to print off some more and go up to the national forest (it's about a 30 min drive, but straight line is only like 5 miles or so) and try up there with an air rifle. I scouted that area before, and I'm still skeptical using a shotgun, however it does seem lawful.

Disregard on the last statement, it seems as if hunting ECDs with pellet guns is illegal. I'll do more research before I decide to go out.

Disregard on the last statement, it seems as if hunting ECDs with pellet guns is illegal. I'll do more research before I decide to go out.