What did you learn from 2010 seasons

mconway951

So with just a few days left of my bow season i am sitting here checking the site before I head out to stand again and just reflecting on the season.
So what did you guys learn form 2010 season?
I have learned that sometimes your old faithful spots arent always faithful so i am scrambling to find the deer in this late season.

I'm still learning... how to get from point A to point B within a reasonable time - and somehow, reduce the amount of elk I spook... Heck, I push more elk out of areas than I find at my destination! I am at step 3 of 100 in mastering this hunt edumacation...

Best of success in your hunt Mconway!

I learned to trust my instincts. I hunted new areas (not just spots, but different counties) this year and every single spot that I said to myself, "this looks like a good spot to hunt" turned out to be such. The first time I found a spot after walking down a steep hill for several hundred feet and thought, this looks good, only to get up after 30 minutes thinking I was wasting my time. As soon as I took a couple of steps I spooked a deer that was heading right for the area I thought would present a good shot with a bow. After that I decided that if I thought it was a good spot I was going to stay put. I saw several deer each time I hunted this year.