Shotgun help

krshunter

Looking at an excellent condition older Remington 870 Wingmaster, one "Full" and the other "Mod". Will either of these older shotguns shoot steel shot? I will probably use it for grouse, pheasant, maybe an occasional goose hunt. Regs here say we have to have steel shot for any waterfoul and on public property. Upland birds on private property can be shot with leadshot. I'm new to shotgunning and looking for something versatile to get me going.

I bought an 870 wingmaster in 1987, 30 inch full choke. I've shot a ton of steel through it with no problems.

I dont think you'd have any problems shooting steel through the older 870's. I was told all kinds of horror stories about steel causing ring bulges, not shooting well, etc.

All BS.

Hey Buzz,

They have two of them down at Westbrooks and said they would come down in price. One is the Wingmaster Magnum with vent rib and in pretty good condition. Other isn't the magnum and doesn't have the vent rib. Will come down to $225 on either one. Good deal?

I'd get whichever one is the modified choke. You don't want a full choke for shooting large steel shot. The modified should work well. Also for grouse and pheasants you don't want/need a full choke. You also don't need 3 inch shells, and the vent rib isn't necessary either.

I think its a decent deal. I paid $290 for mine new in 1987. Mine has the vent. rib and is a 3" mag.

Its about the only shotgun I've hunted with since 1987. I know theres more expensive shotguns out there, undoubtedly better shotguns, but mine has been nothing but reliable ever since I bought it. I did buy a browning bps in a 28 gauge a few years ago and have shot a few birds with it, but other than that, its strictly the 870.

I'd hate to see all the birds in one pile that thing has killed.

WH,