Upgrading my shotgun

FairWeather

Hello, looking for some guidance (not necessarily recommendations on models) on upgrading my shotgun.

I’m new to hunting, 2021 being the first year I really have put effort into it. I mostly focused on deer hunting here in Oregon, but I noticed I kept flushing grouse while deer hunting, so I attempted a little of that too. I never did get to take a shot at either one. This year I’m setting my intentions on hunting dove, turkey (already had my spring tag soup), upland, and am considering waterfowl too. Basically whatever habitat I can get access to. So, I’ve been thinking about swapping out my shotgun for something more versatile.

What I have: NEF pardner single shot 20ga, 3” chamber, 25.5” barrel fixed MOD choke.
Pros:
very light and maneuverable, points naturally, and it’s easy on the eyes IMO.
Break action w/ exposed hammer, very little to malfunction and inherent safety in the design.

Cons:
Only one shot, and relatively slow reload.
Fixed choke.
Company is out of business so no/little customer support or replacement parts if needed.
20ga is slightly limiting (so I hear) for waterfowl.

I’m considering either an OU or a pump, most likely in 12ga. I like the break action, so the OU is appealing to me from that aspect, the fact that it will be a tad shorter overall than a pump is also nice. With a pump, there’s the option of interchangeable barrels, opening up different lengths, or rifled barrels which opens some possibilities.
Part of me is also thinking to just hold onto the pardner and see if it’s shortcomings actually cost me any birds this year before I hurry off to replace it.

So, give’m all this info, let’s open this can of worms. Give me your thoughts!

Another vote for an 870, just hard to beat.

If you do elect to go semi auto save up and buy something worthwhile. My recommendation would be a Benelli m2, they just work. I’ve made it my whole hunting career without 3.5’s and won’t start now lol