Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

RL 23 HOT!!

Addicting

Friend payed a premium for some RL23 and I went to reload his known .5 MOA recipe. I tested this new lot for speed, had to drop back to a LR primer from a Mag and 1.2 grains of powder to keep it in the same velocity range.

Most adjustment I’ve seen in new lots of powder.

Interesting. I've been loading RL23 in my 7mmRM for several years and never noticed a big difference between powder lots.

Interesting. I've been loading RL23 in my 7mmRM for several years and never noticed a big difference between powder lots.
So had I, until this lot, I hadn’t seen an issue. It’s been 3 years since I bought the last batch. Finally burned thru it and I have been trying to use up some 22 I had on hand.

He still wanted 23 so he sourced some.
Something changed in the 23 recipe since then.

Friend payed a premium for some RL23 and I went to reload his known .5 MOA recipe. I tested this new lot for speed, had to drop back to a LR primer from a Mag and 1.2 grains of powder to keep it in the same velocity range.

Alliant has a very broad range of burn rate and energy density that they will accept.

So had I, until this lot, I hadn’t seen an issue. It’s been 3 years since I bought the last batch. Finally burned thru it and I have been trying to use up some 22 I had on hand.

I'm always worried about buying powder from questionable sources. People could cut it like drugs and really screw you.

Never been a fan of Alliant powders for that very reason. Seen it more than a couple times

Contact the distributor and see if they will confirm that.

New lots of powder should always be checked that's Reloading 101. It's time to start buying powders that have matching lot numbers with minimum buy of 5lbs...buy once cry once.

FWIW, I've not had a lot of success with RL23 where I've tried it. For some reason it wants to pressure out early.