Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

NM: Desert Bighorn Sheep + OIL Elk

ltho98

So I drew a OIL Desert Bighorn Sheep tag AND a OIL Elk tag in my home state of NM.

I have never even seen a bighorn sheep outside of a zoo (desert or mountain). I also have never dropped an elk, but have hunted them with bow, muzzleloader, and rifle all unsuccessfully. Needless to say, i'm relatively new to hunting and entirely self-taught (~5 years). I feel that I am very undeserving of these hunts.. but... since I got them, screw it, i'm going to hunt as hard as I can and devote the next 8 months to learning as much as I can. The only "big game" I have been successful in is javelina.

Here is where I reach out to you all... especially the bighorn hunters.

I was drawn for the Ladrone mountains just south of Albuquerque and I am likely the only tag out there for bighorn. I know I will be dealing with cow elk hunters in terms of pressure. What I don't know is... where do I find them? What kind of habitat do they prefer? In the morning or evening?

I know they don't need water for weeks on end, but if close do water, do they prefer to be near it?

Long story short is, I know so little for this massive opportunity and literally any advice that is offered I will accept.

Here is my plan, please tell me if i'm doing something stupid or there is a better way or if i'm on the right track:

Date: The hunt is all of December. If needed, i'm giving the middle finger to Christmas to get this sheep.

Gear: I just bought a 65 mm Vortex razor spotting scope, plan on using my junky 10x42 diamondbacks. For a weapon i'll be using a Rem 700 chambered in 300 RUM with a 3-9 nikon BDC scope. I plan on shooting 220 grain hornadys. I plan on keeping my shots between 200-400 yds.

Homebase and vehicles: I have a redneck camper that i'll park in either magdelena or socorro and I'll also have a jeep that can pretty much climb anything. I also have a little ATV, but probably not going to use it.